Guarding Your Heart

On Sunday, I was sitting in the living room of my grandparents’ house with Yoda on my lap, watching TV. I felt Yoda lift his head and the vibration of his growling. By the time I looked at the window, Yoda was completely barking and lunging for the neighbor.

A few days ago, I was folding laundry in the living room when I saw Yoda perk up from his bed. I stopped as I watched him climb out and start barking, as there was a knock on the door. When I got to the door, Yoda was ready to run out after the UPS guy.

The next day, he attempted to run after the UPS guy again. For those that know Yoda, he is not much of a barker at all. In fact, Yoda is one of the most docile dogs I have ever encountered. Whenever I leave to take the trash out or get the mail, Yoda watches me through every window he can find. Lately, he has taken on this persona of being the ultimate guard dog that is ever so vigilant.

img_2439-e1498181854516.jpg

Dogs are emotional creatures capable of loving their humans as fiercely as we love our family members, friends and others close to us. I have never doubted the way Yoda loves me, as he does not tell me; he shows me. In Yoda’s eyes, I am his treasure and he must guard it.

My son, pay attention to what I say; turn your ear to my words.
Do not let them out of your sight, keep them within your heart;
For they are life to those who find them and health to one’s whole body.
Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.
Keep your mouth free of perversity; keep corrupt talk far from your lips.
Let your eyes look straight ahead; fix your gaze directly before you.
Give careful thought to the paths for your feet and be steadfast in all your ways.
Do not turn to the right or the left; keep your foot from evil.

Proverbs 4:20-27 NIV

I used to get so frustrated with my parents when they would decide who I could and could not be friends with. It felt worse because they worked at the same school I attended and they knew everyone and their parents. As a child, I thought it was unfair and mean; but now as a grown adult, I realize they were guarding my heart above all. My parents wanted me to understand that I could not leave the door to my heart wide open for just anyone to walk through and all that we do in life, starts first with the heart.

Banks take measures to guard the vault for two reasons. The first being that they do not want any thieves to have access or get in, and because they want to protect the treasures inside. Our hearts are like bank vaults because God wants us to deposit and keep His wisdom inside. God’s wisdom is supreme and we find glory in it; however, it is not our parents’ responsibility to guard our hearts forever. Solomon says “above all,” meaning, it is our number one priority because our hearts have treasure and the enemy seeks to steal it. Therefore, we must guard our hearts and protect it from those who wish to do harm while keeping the treasures of our hearts in.

What are you keeping in your heart? Is the door wide open? Keep your treasures safe and guard your heart.

15 thoughts on “Guarding Your Heart

Leave a Reply

