Hiding Place

Yesterday I was sitting in my office at 6:30 pm checking emails when I heard water splashing against the window next to me. I looked outside to see darkness and my window drenched. A few moments later, I saw a flash of light, followed by a loud bang and Yoda running under my chair to hide in fear. I chuckled at the fact that I am literally sitting right next to the window and Yoda chose to hide wherever I was. Then I realized I am Yoda’s hiding place.

IMG_2379Yoda was a stray before I adopted him three months ago. According to the shelter, they found him wandering the streets. When he arrived at the shelter, his coat was so long, his eyes were barely visible and he was full of ticks and fleas. As a stray, I can only imagine how many times he hid in fear during thunderstorms.

IMG_0984

In 2008, I was involved in an abusive relationship that all but destroyed me. It left me in a state of brokenness I never experienced before. I deleted my social media accounts, withdrew from my activities, stopped going to school, distanced myself from friends and retreated to my room—my hiding place. I had just begun attending a church with my mom and we were both involved in the choir. I remember crying so many times during worship because I was just so broken. Spending time with family and being in church, serving God were about the only activities that drew me out of my room.

While I had distanced myself from just about everyone, except my family, God drew closer to me in ways I had never seen before. He blessed me with opportunities to minister to others and constantly provided me with work and students to tutor. Most of all, the Holy Spirit gave me comfort.

“The Lord is near to those who have a broken heart,
And saves such as have a contrite spirit.”
Psalm 34:18 NKJV

God always draws near to those who are broken and comforts those whose spirits are crushed or full of sorrow. The pains of an abusive relationship carry many emotions of guilt, shame and embarrassment—all of which I felt. God began moving in me and drew me out of my old hiding place and into a new one: His.

“Seek the Lord while He may be found,
Call upon Him while He is near.”
Isaiah 55:6 NKJV

The Lord wants us to call upon Him at all times; not just when the storms of our lives are brewing and we are desperate for safety. It is so easy to take comfort in the world and hide out in our rooms, but God wants us to find our hiding place in the shadow of His wings.

“Therefore let all the faithful pray to you
while you may be found;
surely the rising of the mighty waters
will not reach them.
You are my hiding place;
you will protect me from trouble
and surround me with songs of deliverance.”
Psalm 32:6-7 NIV

Seek the Lord while He may be found. God does not want us to wait until the storm reaches full strength in order to seek Him; He wants us to seek Him at all times. He will protect and deliver us to safety. Come to the Lord and hide in the shadow of his wings. God bless you.

 

One thought on “Hiding Place

Leave a Reply

