Rest

Many of you know I recently adopted Yoda three months ago from a shelter in Miami-Dade County. These past few months have been an adjustment period for both of us, being that I’ve never had a dog before. It’s truly been an adventure with him.

IMG_2366

Yoda, burrowed up against me.

This morning I woke up to a loud bang at 5:51 am. I looked over to Yoda’s tent and didn’t see him there. My heart sank. I got up and looked at the foot of my bed and there he was, shaking. Yoda wasn’t trying to check out any strange noises for me. Since I didn’t hear any other noises, I picked him up and let him lay next to me while I tried to go back to sleep. A few minutes later, there was a flash of light and another loud bang; followed by Yoda burrowing himself up against me. At this point I realized we were in the middle of yet another Florida storm, I was about to fall off the bed, and I was not going to get any physical rest.

A year ago someone prayed with me at the altar as I was going through a very difficult time. In the middle of her prayer at the altar she whispered “Abba wants you to find rest in the Almighty.” The storm in my life was beginning to brew and while I did not understand what was going on, I took her words with me and held onto them. It took months for me to realize what God was trying to tell me.

In Matthew 11:28-30, Jesus says “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

At the time of the storm I kept seeking comfort in the world and people instead of trusting in the Almighty. I eventually found myself outside of the will of God and cried out for deliverance. The words at the altar came back to me and I decided to put it all in the hands of the Almighty. God gave me rest and faithfully delivered me to safety. My soul found rest in the Almighty.

Are you in the middle of a storm? Abba wants you to find rest in the Almighty. Come to Jesus, take His yoke, learn of Him and He will give you the rest you need.

Leave a Reply

